Press "Enter" to skip to content

Daniel 7 Vision: The Four Beasts

Last updated on March 29, 2024

According to the vision of the “four beasts” by the prophet Daniel, there will be four kingdoms that will rule the world.

The Vision

Daniel 7:2 Daniel declared: “In my vision in the night I looked, and suddenly the four winds of heaven were churning up the great sea. 3Then four great beasts came up out of the sea, each one different from the others:

4The first beast was like a lion, and it had the wings of an eagle. I watched until its wings were torn off and it was lifted up from the ground and made to stand on two feet like a man, and given the mind of a man.

5Suddenly another beast appeared, which looked like a bear. It was raised up on one of its sides, and it had three ribs in its mouth between its teeth. So it was told, ‘Get up and gorge yourself on flesh!’

6Next, as I watched, another beast appeared. It was like a leopard, and on its back it had four wings like those of a bird. The beast also had four heads, and it was given authority to rule.

The Fourth Beast

7After this, as I watched in my vision in the night, suddenly a fourth beast appeared, and it was terrifying— dreadful and extremely strong— with large iron teeth. It devoured and crushed; then it trampled underfoot whatever was left. It was different from all the beasts before it, and it had ten horns. 8While I was contemplating the horns, suddenly another horn, a little one, came up among them, and three of the first horns were uprooted before it. This horn had eyes like those of a man and a mouth that spoke words of arrogance.


An angel gave the prophet Daniel the interpretation of his vision of the four beasts.

 Daniel 7:17 “Those great beasts, which are four, are four kings which arise out of the earth”. 

In this vision of the Prophet Daniel, the “four beasts” that he saw, the four kings or kingdoms are four types of government systems. This interpretation is a spirit-based interpretation. I will explain what this means later in this blog.

The four kingdoms that will rule on Earth are:

1) Lion with wings of eagle – the first kingdom.

2) Bear with three ribs in his mouth – the second kingdom.

3) Leopard with four heads and four wings – the third kingdom.

4) A terrible-looking beast with iron teeth and ten horns- the fourth kingdom.

The angel gave the prophet Daniel more details about the fourth beast that he saw in his vision.

Daniel 7:23 “Thus he said: ‘The fourth beast shall be A fourth kingdom on earth, Which shall be different from all other kingdoms, And shall devour the whole earth, Trample it and break it in pieces.”

Parallel Prophecy

In chapter two of the book of Daniel, King Nebuchadnezzar of Babylon saw a “statue” in his dream that the prophet Daniel interpreted for him. The interpretation of King Nebuchadnezzar’s dream is the same exact interpretation for the four beasts that the prophet Daniel saw in his vision.

So, there are two visions that are pointing to the same exact prophecy. One was given to King Nebuchadnezzar of Babylon, the other was given directly to the prophet Daniel. They are both prophesying about the four kingdoms that will rule on Earth.

All we need to do now is apply what we know about King Nebuchadnezzar’s “dream” to what we now know about the vision of the “four beasts” of the prophet Daniel to get a bigger and clearer picture of this prophecy.

Here is what we know:

Daniel’s Four Beasts SymbolismsNebuchadnezzar’s Statue SymbolismsSpiritual Kingdoms or realmsSpirit-based interpretation:
Types of Ruling Systems or Governments
First KingdomLionHead Of GoldBabylonThe Leader is both a political and religious figure. A Theocratic System.
Second KingdomBearChest Of SilverMedo-PersiaThe leader is an authoritarian. A monarchy, dictatorship, or communist system.
Third KingdomLeopardThighs of BronzeGreeceThe leader is chosen by people through a fair election process. A Democratic System.
Fourth KingdomTerrible-looking BeastLegs of Iron and Feet of Iron and clayBeastA combination of the first three ruling systems. With 10 nations-unions political spheres. It will be a multi-polar world.
Spirit-based interpretation of the Four Beasts of Daniel

Spiritual-based Interpretation

Babylon is the first kingdom that will rule the world. It is symbolized by the lion with eagle’s wings in the prophet Daniel’s vision and by the head of gold in King Nebuchadnezzar’s dream. When a nation’s leader is in charge of that nation’s religious and political affairs, that nation is under the spiritual realm of Babylon (Fashioned after King Nebuchadnezzar’s style of governing).

Medo-Persia is the second kingdom that will rule the world. The bear symbolizes it with three ribs in his mouth in the prophet Daniel’s vision and by the chest and arms of silver in King Nebuchadnezzar’s dream. When a nation is ruled by an authoritarian, that nation is under the spiritual realm of Medo-Persia. (The two dominant forms of authoritarian government are Absolute Monarchy and Communism)

Greece is the third kingdom that will rule the world. The leopard symbolizes it with four heads and four wings in the prophet Daniel’s vision and by the thighs of bronze in King Nebuchadnezzar’s dream. Any nation that chooses a leader through a fair democratic election is under the spiritual realm of Greece. (Democracy started in Greece)

The terrible-looking beast is the fourth kingdom that will rule the world. The beast with ten horns symbolizes it in the prophet Daniel’s vision and by the legs of iron and feet of iron and clay in King Nebuchadnezzar’s dream.

The fourth beast in the prophet Daniel’s vision is not yet fulfilled. We will look into the fourth beast in a separate blog in the future God willing.


The “dream” of a “statue” by King Nebuchadnezzar in chapter two of the prophet Daniel’s book points to the same prophecy as the “four beasts” that the prophet Daniel saw in a “vision” in chapter seven of the same book. Both the dream of Nebuchadnezzar and the vision of the prophet Daniel are pointing to the prophecy about the “four kingdoms” or ruling systems that will rule on earth.

The first three systems prophesied in these visions have already manifested here on Earth. Those are Babylon, Medo-Persia, and Greece. Babylon rules with a leader who is in control of both the political and religious affairs of the nation. Medo-Persia rules as authoritarians. Greece rules with elected leaders. The fourth kingdom is yet to come. The fourth kingdom is the Beast government system. We will look into the Beast system in future blogs, God willing.

I hope that you’ve learned something from this blog. Until next time, May God bless you friends and brethren.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply